There are numerous universities today in Nigeria running postgraduate programmes not approved/accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC). It may interest you to know that NUC is a regulatory agency saddled with the responsibility of ensuring that quality is maintained within the academic programmes of the Nigerian university system.

For this reason, it becomes imperative for prospective postgraduate students to be on the know so as not to make mistake of enrolling in universities not licensed to run postgraduates programmes by NUC. The implication of making such mistake is quite enormous. Aside from the time and resources wasted, certificates issued by such universities are not recognized anywhere in Nigeria or outside.

As surprising as it may be, employers of labour, educational institutions and other stakeholders are fully much aware of this development. The implications therefore is that, certificate holders from unapproved universities are not valid for employment, further studies and other purposes. The list of the universities below is categorized into 3 sections namely: (i) federal (2) state and (3) private.

Federal Universities

  1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
  2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  3. Bayero University, Kano
  4. Federal University of Technology, Akure
  5. Federal University of Technology, Minna
  6. Federal University of technology, Owerri
  7. Michael Okpara University of agriculture, Umudike
  8. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola
  9. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos
  10. Nigerian Defence Academy, kaduna
  11. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka
  12. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
  13. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
  14. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
  15. University of Agriculture, Makurdi
  16. University of benin, Benin City
  17. University of Calabar, Calabar
  18. University of Ibadan, Ibadan
  19. University of Ilorin, Ilorin
  20. University of Jos, Jos
  21. University of Lagos, Akoka
  22. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri
  23. University of Nigeria, Nsukka
  24. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt
  25. University of uyo, Uyo
  26. Usmanu danfodiyo University, Sokoto
  27. Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina
  28. Federal University Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti
  29. Alex Ekweme Federal University
  30. Air-force Institution of technology, Kaduna

State University

  1. Abia State University, Uturu
  2. Adamawa State University, Mubi
  3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko
  4. Ambrose Ali University, Ekpoma
  5. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
  6. Benue State University, makurdi
  7. Cross River University of Technology, Calabar
  8. Delta State University, Abraka
  9. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  10. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
  11. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
  12. Gombe State University
  13. Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai
  14. Ignitius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni
  15. Imo State University, Owerri
  16. Kano State University of Science and Technology, Wudil
  17. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
  18. Kwara State University, Malete
  19. Kogi State University, Ayingba
  20. Kaduna State University, Kaduna
  21. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
  22. Lagos State University, Ojo
  23. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  24. Niger-Delta University, wilberforce Island
  25. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye
  26. Osun State University, Osogbo
  27. Rivers State University, Port Harcourt
  28. Tai Solarin University of education, Ijebu Ode
  29. Umaru musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina
  30. Yobe State University, Damaturu

Private University

  1. Achievers University, Owo
  2. Adeleke University, Ede
  3. African University of science and Technology, Abuja
  4. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  5. Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan
  6. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc only)
  7. Al-qalam University, Katsina
  8. American University of Science and Technology, Yola
  9. Babcock University, Ileshan-Remo
  10. Baze University, Abuja
  11. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  12. Bells University of Technology, Ota
  13. Bingham University, new karu, Abuja
  14. Bowen University, Iwo
  15. Caleb University, Lagos
  16. Covenant University, Ota
  17. Crowford University, Igbessa
  18. Crescent University, Abeokuta
  19. Fountain University, Osogbo
  20. Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike, Enugu
  21. Igbinedion University, Okada
  22. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-arakeji, Osun State
  23. Landmark University, Omu-Aran
  24. Lead City University, Ibadan
  25. Madonna University, Okija
  26. Novena University, Ogume
  27. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
  28. Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu
  29. Pan African University, Lekki
  30. Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State
  31. Salam University, Lokoja
  32. University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc only)
  33. Veritas University, Abuja

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *