Cross River State University of Science & Technology

State universities came into existence as a result of inability of federal universities to absorb the increasing number of university applicants in Nigeria. Rivers State university of science and technology in 1979, blazed the trail by being the first state owned university in Nigeria. Subsequently, the number has increased significantly and there are currently 48 state universities in Nigeria as accredited by National Universities Commission (NUC).

Presently, the proliferation of State Universities in Nigeria has helped in absorbing the exploding number of university applicants the country is facing. Though one cannot boast of standard of these set of schools compare to their federal counterparts, which could be as the result of paucity of fund within the states’ domains, to fund the academic institutions. The list consists of many interesting information such as years the universities were established, where they are located and their official website addresses.

1Abia State University1981Uturu, Abia State
2Adamawa State University2002Mubi, Adamawa State
3Adekunle Ajasin University1999Akungba,
4Akwa Ibom State University2010Ikot Akpaden, Akwa Ibom State
5Ambrose Ali University1980Ekpoma, Edo State
6Bauchi State Univerity2011Gadau, bauchi state
7Bayelsa medical University2019Onopa, Bayelsa State
8Benue State University1992Makurdi, Benue State
9Borno State University2016Maiduguri, Borno StateNone
10Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University2000Uli, Anambra State
11Cross River State University of Technology2004Calabar, Cross River State
12Delta State University1992Abraka, delta State
13Eastern Palm University 2016Ogboko, Imo State
14Ebonyi State University2000Abikiliki, Ebonyi State
15Edo State University2016Iyamo, edo State
16Enugu State University of Science and Technology1982Enugu, Enugu State
17Ekiti State University1982Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State
18Gombe Sate University2004Gombe, Gombe State
19Gombe state University of Science and Technology20172017Kumo, Gombe StateNone
20Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida University2005Lapai, Niger State
21Ignitius Ajuru University of Education2010Rumuolumeni, Rivers State
22Imo State University1992Owerri, Imo State
23Kaduna State University2004Kaduna, Kaduna State
24Kano sate University of Science and Technology2000Wudil, Kano Statehttpps://
25Kebbi State University of Science and Technology2006Aliero, Kebbi State
26Kogi Sate University1999Ayingba, Kogi state
27Kwara State University2009Ilorin, Kwara State
28Ladoke Akintola University of Technology1990Ogbomoso, Oyo State
29Lagos State University1983Ojo, Lagos State
30Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology2017Abeokuta, Ondo StateNone
31Nasarawa State University2002Keffi, Nasarawa State
32Niger Delta University2000Yenagoa, bayelsa
33Olabisi Onabanjo University1982Ago Iwoye, Ogun State
34Ondo State University of Medical Sciences2015Ondo City, Ondo State
35Ondo State University2008Okitipupa, Ondo State
36Osun State University2006Osogbo, Osun State
37Oyo State State technical University2012Ibadan, Oyo State
38Plateau State University2005Bokkos, Plateau State
39Rivers State University1979Port Harcourt, Rivers State
40Sokoto State University2009Sokoto, sokoto State
41Sule Lamido University2013Kafin hausa, jigawa State
42Tai Solarin University of Education2005Ijebu Ode, Ogun State
43Taraba State University2008Jalingo, Taraba State
44University of Africa2016Toru Orua, Bayelsa State
45Umar Musa Yar’ adua university2006Katsina, Katsina state
46Yobe State University2006Damaturug, Yobe State
47Yusuf Maitama Sule University2012Kano, Kano State
48Zamfara State University2018Talata Mafara, Zamfara State 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *